The LSU Tigers are National Champions.


Sue Ogrocki/Associated Press

LSU QB and Heisman recipient, Joe Burrow (left)hoisting the CFP National Championship Trophy with safety Grant Delpit (right) as National Champions.

David Henshaw, Sports Editor

The LSU Tigers are Your 2020 College Football Playoff National Champions.

In what will seem like a never-ending party in Louisiana also seemed like an eternity waiting in this National Championship, as it was a showdown and shootout of the highest-rated offenses, after the smoke cleared and pyrotechnics welcomed in the two teams to the epicenter of College Football, it was time to get down to business.

 With a game starting right out the gate in the first quarter, Clemson was the first team to score with their QB Trevor Lawrence, hero of last year’s National Championship in Santa Clara against Alabama. LSU would also go on the board early in the first quarter with WR Ja’Marr Chase.

The first half would expire with a 28-17 clash with LSU in the lead, second half rolls in and it gets even crazier with touchdowns being scored left and right, even gets QB Joe Burrow to shatter the NCAA single-season passing touchdowns record after a catch by another man on offense, Thaddeus Moss, son of Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018 and one the most explosive Wide Receivers in NFL history, Randy Moss. While Burrow moves on to the NFL, along with Moss, Jefferson, and likely Chase going into the draft as prospects on offense, the defense would make the final stop in the title game.

It was in the fourth, LSU defense keeping Trevor Lawrence away from 50, and making him fumble the ball in the pressure with Grant Delpit taking him down and Derek Stingley picking it up and placing it on the 45, that was when LSU decided that they were done, they have just became the first team to cap a 15-0 perfect season, along with becoming the first to defeat 7 AP top-10 teams, first to beat the top 4 teams in the AP preseason poll, becoming the winningest SEC team of all-time, making the most points in the AP Poll era, and their first CFP National title (fourth college football national title). Burrow heads out onto the field for his final time wearing an LSU uniform and knees the ball for the final time.

While Trevor Lawrence loses his first ever College Football game in his entire career with a historic personal 29-1 record, he still has time before the NFL teams start calling him. LSU achieved the impossible and through all odds proved their case as not only the greatest team of the 150th College Football season, but the greatest of all time.